"Breakthrough Prizes awarded to Research"

The Recognition of Scientific Advance

Breakthrough Prizes awarded to research into black holes, cancer and the origins of life. Mark Zuckerberg, Sergey Brin and Yuri Milner announced the recipients at an event in San Francisco.

The Science & Technology party: This year's Breakthrough Prizes have been awarded to advances in string theory, black holes, the origins of life and number theory. Founders of the Prize – Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Yuri and Julia Milner, and Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan – announced the recipients of the 2017 awards at an event in San Francisco, which marked the organisation’s fifth anniversary.  READ FULL ARTICLE  VIA WIRED.CO.UK

“There has never been a more important time to support science,” said Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg. “The 2017 Breakthrough Prize laureates represent the leaders in scientific research in physics, math and life sciences. Their breakthroughs will unlock new possibilities and help make the world a better place for everyone.”

Credit: Breakthrough Prize

2017 Breakthrough Prize winners

Breakthrough Prize In Life Sciences
Each of the five Life Science winners received a $3 million prize.

Harry F. Noller from the University of California, Santa Cruz, won for discovering how RNA forms the active centres of the ribosome, ultimately forging a link between modern biology to the origin of life.

Roeland Nusse from Stanford University won for research on the Wnt pathway, an intercellular signalling systems in development, cancer and stem cell biology.

Yoshinori Ohsumifrom Tokyo Institute of Technology won for his work into autophagy, the recycling system that cells use to generate nutrients from their own inessential or damaged components.

Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics
The three winners, sharing the $3 million prize are, Joseph Polchinski from the University of California, Santa Barbara; Andrew Strominger from Harvard University; and Cumrun Vafa, also from Harvard University.

All three received the prize for advances in quantum field theory, string theory, and quantum gravity.

Breakthrough Prize In Mathematics
Jean Bourgain, IBM von Neumann Professor in the School of Mathematics at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey, won for contributions to analysis, combinatorics, partial differential equations, high-dimensional geometry and number theory.

Breakthrough Junior Challenge
The second annual Breakthrough Junior Challenge recognizes two winners this year - Antonella Masini, 18, from Peru, and Deanna See, 17, from Singapore. Antonella and Deanna will each receive up to $400,000 in educational prizes.

Masini’s video, submitted in the physics category, was on quantum entanglement. See’s life sciences video, titled “Superbugs! And Our Race against Resistance,” looked at antibiotic resistance.

"No Copyright Infringement Intended, Strictly For Promotional Purposes Only! All Rights Reserved To Their Respective Owners."

"Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for "fair use" for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use."

0 comentarios :